Some people think that some types of criminals should not go to prison. Instead they should do unpaid work in the community. Do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the variety of crimes, it is common practice to put a convicted person in prison. A section of society often argued that all the criminals are not similar, and consequently, harsh statement for everyone is unfair. However, they outline unpaid community work as punishment for mild offenders. I partially agree with this notion as I also believe a long sentence is required to deter crime. Apparently, providing welfare work to lawbreakers holds a wide range of constructive benefits. To begin with, young persons usually indulge in crime due to peer pressure and lack of parental guidance, and by providing community work, management can indulge moral value's with them. As a result, it can help to re-offend crimes. Moreover, not all offences have been committed under the same circumstances and all the criminals are not violent. For instance: some people act offence in self-defence and they are not aggressive by nature. They deserve a chance to prove themself. Furthermore, a large number of prisoners in jail is costly and put a burden on the government. However, imprisonment is beneficial to alleviate crime rates as it is more deterrent if everyone knows the consequence of the misdeed they commit. Along with that, offenders are deterred by long sentences and there will be no chance a criminal could save by proving himself innocent with a good defence attorney. To illustrate:- sometimes a rich criminal who commits a heinous crime such as miss laughter, molestation can get off with the help of a corrupted legal system but fear of prison life can prevent slipping through loopholes in the law. To conclude, The objective of the law is to maintain peace in society, not to punish people. Thus unpaid community service is a great option to let some convicted lament their crime and do something good for society.