Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some people prefer to pursue academic courses rather than to follow vocational training. Although the need for university graduates can be denied, there is still a shortage of skilled workers, including plumbers and truck drivers in recent years. There are many reasons why many young people should be encouraged to do vocational training courses. Firstly, manual workers are vital when new buildings are constructed or existing buildings are renovated or simply maintained. In addition, permanent maintenance staff are employed in hospitals, museums and schools, ensuring the safety of all people who use the buildings. Secondly, there is an existing imbalance in the economy over the world, resulting in graduate unemployment, while there is a lack of skilled labour. Therefore, some measures should be adopted to encourage more people to follow vocational courses. The most important thing is that schools should incorporate relevant subjects into their curriculums, which do not place all the emphasises on preparation for studying at university. For instance, workshops in schools should provide an opportunity for schoolchildren to learn “hands-on skills”. In addition, boys and girls who are not very academically inclined should not be considered as failures. Another thing is that governments could work with employers to ensure that more vocational courses are provided. Moreover, parents can help their children to choose vocational careers, explaining the good job prospects and remuneration for manual workers with qualifications and skills. In conclusion, it is necessary to encourage more people to follow vocational courses, because,without skilled labour, society can not function effectively.