Many of the products we buy nowadays break or wear out very quickly. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this for manufacturers and the public?

Consumerism has had been increasing at an alarming rate all around the globe over the past few years. People tend to purchase novelty items in a bid to satisfy their daily necessities; most of the commodities are not lasting longer on account of the quality of the material is used in their manufacturing. This essay will make an attempt to point out the pros of this phenomenon before outlined the cons. To begin with, the most prominent benefit of this is one can have an opportunity to buy the fresh product; some folks especially in my homeland are reluctant to spend on new purchases unless the old one is worn out in response to saves more money. For instance, here, I would like to share an incident from my personal life when I was pursuing my graduation and I requested my father to buy a new phone for me, but he refused my request by saying that you are not allowed to buy the fresh one unless you own the old one. Alongside, toddlers would be happy when they get a chance to buy new toys as the former ones are broken. On the other side, the first drawback of this trend is it inflates extravagant expenditures and financial burdens on parents; the parents have to spend more money to replace the broken one to make their child happy, even some parents have to go out of their budget to purchase a new piece, thereby, this trend pushes parents to face more monetary problems. Apart from that, default manufacturing items could ruin the reputation of the firm; the populace stops believing in the company anymore by dint of the short life span of the commodities produced by the company. To conclude then, the disadvantage of this phenomenon has outweighed the advantages. Undoubtedly, the short life span of a product gives a chance to someone to buy a newer one, but it would imbalance financial budget and deter the prestige and reputation of a firm.