Popular events like the football World Cup and other international occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotion In a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

I think the events such as World Cup, olympics can help in bringing solace in international relationships but the opinion would differ from person to person. These games are held worldwide with great support and expectations. While the popular games can contribute to world peace by bringing the countries together but if we try to look deeply these countries are actually competing with each other which can be one of the factors for hatred amongst nations. For example, A cricket match between India and Pakistan are always big matches in two countries where full of tensions overflow. In the worst sedentair the troubles caused by loosing games affect the players directly. These two rival countries have their patriotic emotions explode in an aggressive way. There are some occasions when these games have brought down the tensions between two rival nations. For instance, in 2008 turkey and Armenia teams were geared up to play a World Cup and the Turkish president accepted.Armenia loosend loosen visa restrictions so that Turkish fans could join the game. The match opened new diplomatic channels between two countries. In conclusion, though international sporting occasions can be one of the good ways to ease tensions; however, I believe that games cannot be fundamental ways for the peaceful international relationships.