It was observed that in some countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects at universities . What are the causes ? What effects does this have on society?

Nowadays, adolescents have a lot of modules to pick from for their bachelor's education. In several countries, a majority of teenagers are not opting for science and technology courses. The reasons for this are multifold such as low wages and a bad image. As a result, this can steer a nation to lag behind in technological advancement as well as economical growth. The most significant reason for this is the lower renumeration of scientists, which can make them feel inferior in comparison to other professionals. This can damage the image of technoligsts among young and aspiring scientists, which in turn makes them gradually lose interest to pursue their studies in this field. For instance, a lot of organisations pay higher salaries to managers rather than engineers. In contrast, if researchers were compensated same as the administrative positions, this would inspire youngsters to select this field for their high-level education. Firstly, due to the lack of students opting for research courses, there will be a shortage of scientists and researchers in the society. Furthermore, this would lead to fewer technical developments and hence a poor economic growth. To illustrate this point, the countries which doesn't have enough technologists lags behind the world both in terms of technology as well as economy. Alternatively, if there had been more workforce in the sector of research and development in India, more number of start-ups would have emerged out of the nation, leading to higher foreign investments. As a result, a decrease in research students can hinder the economical growth and welfare of a society. In conclusion, it can hardly be denied that learning science and technology is vital for technical and economical development of a community. In my opinion, the goverment should take actions to equalise the wages among various sectors and encourage the youth to opt for these fields in their academies.