Many people think cheap air travel should be encouraged because it give ordinary people freedom to travel further. However, others think this leads to Environmental problem, so air travel should be more expensive in order to discourage people from having it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Against the backdrop of the interaction between countries, travelling abroad became more common for everyone and air travel got more convenient with the advent of cheap flights. On the other hand, some argue that taking into account the environmental impacts triggered by air travel, it must be more expensive to deter people from enjoying the travel casually. I can neither support nor opposition the given statement for the following reasons. Turning to the environmental concerns, it is fact that air travel gives a certain negative impact on the environment, especially due to the carbon emission during the flight. According to the Ministry of Environment in Japan, the CO2 emission yielded by one flight from Tokyo to Singapore is equivalent to the destruction of 25km2 of forests. Given that there are two flights per day, the damages on the nature are significantly considerable. Besides this, in response to the increase in the number of flights as more people take the advantage of cheap flights, it is required the expansion of runways and airport terminals that leads to deforestation and ecosystem destruction. Thus, it is reasonable to set a higher price for the flights to prevent people use the flight frequently concerning the impact on nature. However though, the airline companies are not merely increasing the number of cheap flights to promote casual travelling but as well as they introduce some preventative measures against the environmental impact. For instance, one of the most famous airline companies in Japan called ANA (All Nippon Airways) donates 5% of its revenue per flight for the plantation of trees. This is known as a part of CSR (corporate social responsibility) that seeks the opportunities of compensation against a negative impact on the socio-economics including the environment which yielded through the company's business activities. Moreover, against the backdrop of the development of technologies, a company such as Boeing launches some new aircraft that have less emission of CO2. Those aircraft are proactively adopted by airline companies these days. To summarize, I do not take any position, rather stand at neutral towards the statement because the companies introduce several countermeasures against the concerns, while it is too fact that more flights give more damages to the environment.