*Tourism is always a force for good which enables people of different countries to understand each other. To what extent do you agree with this idea? You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In this day and age, it is widely debated that tourism is the major key that allows citizens of different regions to acknowledge each other. From my perspective, I partly agree with this viewpoint due to various factors On the one hand, It is clearly seen that tourism plays an indispensable part in daily life nowadays. Initially, it allows dwellers to travel from city to city, country to country. Therefore, tourists are able to get a deeper insight into a particular culture of a region. In addition, they can acknowledge the specialty and uniqueness of different customs around the world, which assist them in broadening their mind to a new horizon. Another factor to concern is that tourism also supports people from different backgrounds in exchanging resources and experiences with each other. Consequently, it significantly helps enrich the cultural value of an area by importing valuable traditions from other regions. On the other hand, there are multiple elements that contradict the positive side. Firstly, due to globalization and the demand of people to discover other cultures, various customs from other areas will be imported into a country through tourism. Hence these have the potential to replace the historical and conventional values that have existed for a long period. As a result, these traditions will vanish if there are no solutions from the governments to protect the old customs. In particular, the youth nowadays are able to keep up with the latest trends faster than the old generations. As a consequence, young dwellers will prefer to acknowledge the customs from international regions rather than the regional ones. More severely, elderly persons cannot stay alive forever in order to conserve the old values, and a nation will face different challenges if there are no realistic ways to preserve the culture of their country. In conclusion, despite numerous benefits involved, I am of the opinion that tourism potentially alters the existing customs that carry historical values, thereby the authorities must consider and balance between developing tourism and cultural protection.