Several languages are in daner of extinction because they are spoken by very small number of people.Some people say that government should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that languages play an important role in life. Some people argue that governments should invest money in preserving languages to avoid the loss of culture. However, I believe that spending money on saving endangered languages is unnecessary as governments should pay more attention to public services such as health care. There is the commonly held view that governments should spend money on preventing languages from extinction so that a wide range of cultures can be protected / preserved. This is because each language usually represents one culture. For example, there are eleven types of indigenous languages in Taiwan and their mythology and ancient literature are written only in those respective languages. If these languages die out, part of their cultures will permanently vanish. However, it is widely known that the loss of minority languages does not significantly impact people’s lives as only a few people use them. My strongly held belief is that governments should not waste money on saving endangered languages. It is evident that these languages are less valuable and less beneficial to people’s lives. Many studies show that saving a language will certainly cost a large amount of money and only a few people particularly linguistics can benefit from it and it increases the financial burden on a nation. By contrast, if governments can allocate more funds to the development of medical devices, they can certainly save many lives. Therefore, the government should focus on improving crucial sectors instead of wasting a lot of money to save local languages. In conclusion, while it is true that saving local languages is crucial for conserving cultures associated with them, in my opinion, it is more important for the government to invest in essential services like healthcare and education. Hence, I am not in favour of spending a lot of money on saving languages.