In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message ?

Whether or not parents should encourage children by trying hard in order to keep their support is an issue of interest. Some believe that saying so can bring several merits to encourage their child, while others argue that it constitutes to some merits, which mostly annihilates the feeling of children. This essay points out the rationales behind two contrasting viewpoints and provides examples before the conclusion is reached. On the one hand, those words are significantly important to the confidence success of children. To be more precise, it is a passive way to insist on parents ’ point of view of their youngsters, which believe that they can reach their goals if they are working hard enough. As a result, they will take a lot of effort due to the overwhelming support given. For example, few children who aimed to be a pilot but were scared of height, by the wording of their parents, which stimulate him and make him trust himself, those can definitely follow their dream jobs. On the other hand, although those provide encouragement, somehow it can bring about discouragement as well. This is due to the fact that partially, adolescents feel that their parents force them to keep trying by doing so. As a consequence, this will attribute to repercussions either physical or mental issues on their child. For instance, in Thailand, most of the parents will choose the choice for their college and force them to work hard for admission, which contributes to more youngsters have mental illnesses such as anxiety disorder as well as depression. In conclusion, the word try hard enough is a double-edged sword, which can bring either benefits or severe drawbacks. Therefore, in order to encourage children to be successful in whatever fields, parents should also pay attention to their child’ mental health as well.