A longer prison term as a way of punishing those who break the law is not as good as other method. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Imposing sentences is regarded as an effective method of punishing offenders. Although it can deter crimes, I believe that there are other approaches that can result in better outcomes. Community service can be treated as a better way of reforming criminals. Doing community services such as cleaning equipment of a community can help offenders develop working skills and achieve a sense of responsibility. Meanwhile, this experience can give them a feeling of working and living like normal citizens which can prevent criminals continue to commit offences when they were released. By comparison, a long term prison isolates offenders from society may not achieve the same result. Providing formal education and vocational techniques is another method. Some juvenile offenders and first -time offenders may commit offences because of the lack of judgement and unmatured minds. Therefore, prison staff should provide lectures to offenders and help them develop career advancement. For example, specialist staff can teach them knowledge of basic subjects or practical skills such as cooking and building. By this means, they could accept equal education or job opportunities after they leave prison and are unwilling to hurt other people. On the other hand, a long prison term can be the most powerful approach to prevent crimes for some offenders who commit multiple times of crimes. Reoffenders are likely to pose a threat to public properties and citizens’ safety repeatedly. In order to protect the well-being of innocent citizens, they need long-term supervision conducted by the justice system. In conclusion, despite sending offenders to prison is an efficient way to reduce the offence rate, I believe that methods such as community service and education which can better educate offenders should be taken into consideration.