In the past, most people used to travel to their work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It is commonly believed that the development in technology at the present time brings more people working at home whereas people in the previous time did their work at company. Working at home are beneficial due to having more time with family and saving time from traffic congestion, but they may lack motivation and a sense of teamwork. Firstly, they have more time to do many things when working at home: spending time with family in the morning and night, exercising to get healthy and relaxing more than working at office. This is because they do not have to wake up early to go to the company and not to face any traffic congestion in rush hours; consequently, they are able to save a lot of time from travelling to work--which during traffic congestion everyday. On the other hand, doing work at home is able to lack motivation and a sense of collaboration with their colleagues. This is because sitting in front of the computer for a long time, they may lose focus. Moreover, video conferencing can not be as effective as the real conferencing which can be face-to-face between employee and employer. There are many problems with video conferences as well. For example, a manager is not able to know what their employees are doing; they may just attend to the video call and do another thing that does not involve working. In summary, there are both advantages and disadvantages from developing technology such as mobile phones, computers and internet connection--as opposed to the previous time. Working at home saves a lot of time because they do not need to wake up early and face any traffic congestion--which is the main issue of travelling nowadays. On the other hand, they may be bored and lack motivation to work at home; some employees do another thing during the video conference once in a while.