Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching tv or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Many people argue that children should spend more time reading storybooks instead of wasting their time watching tv or playing desktop games. As a youth of 21st century iI myself am more attracted towards mobile phone rather than reading storybooks so I disagree with the given statement. To begin with, many parents are reluctant to let their kids watch programs on television or play desktop games as they have reason to believe that they could not learn useful knowledge from this kind of entertainment and is a waste of time. In addition, it is believed that reading books is the best productive way to relieve stress, for instance, a recent survey showed that half of the parents buy more than 5 or 10 storybooks per month. As a result, many parents have good reasons to believe these books are better for their children. Moreover, there are many games and tv shows that help children understand certain educational concepts faster for example scientists have confirmed that playing laptop games can improve a child's imagination and help develop problem-solving skills. Furthermore, learning while playing games makes the whole process of gaining knowledge entertaining, this helps them retain for a much longer time. To conclude, learning while playing is much more interesting and helpful than just reading books, children should be able to choose how they want to spend their leisure time, so I disagree that playing games are a waste of time and knowledge can only be acquired through books.