Some people perceive shopping as a form of self-indulgence, while others think that people should only buy things they need. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, whether or not shopping should be considered as a type of self-pleasure. While many people think that shopping is buying stuff that is needed, I believe that shopping for self-indulgence should be adopted in recent years. On the one hand, there are several reasons why people think that shopping is buying necessary things. Firstly, by only purchasing essential things, people could manage their finance effectively. As a result, individuals tend to save a great deal of money for other more important purposes such as education or health care. Furthermore, people who follow the minimalist lifestyle consider shopping as wasting money. Therefore, they only spend money on goods that they need. On the other hand, shopping should be perceived as a kind of self-indulgence for several reasons. The first reason is that buying things helps people feel comfortable and relaxed. Research has shown that through purchasing, the body generates oxytocin and endorphin hormones that stimulate the brain to think positively. Moreover, consumers possessing fancy kinds of stuff give people a sense of satisfaction. For example, people try to own the latest version of iPhone to indulge themselves, even though their old phone still works well. People nowadays behave emotionally when shopping rather than practically. In conclusion, although some people believe that shopping should be considered as a way of buying needed things, I believe that shopping needs to be understood as a way of self-indulgence.