Many university graduates cannot find a job in their chosen profession. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, should be done about it. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many students can only engage in jobs unfit for their majors after graduation, which not only significantly interferes with students ’ career development, but is also a loss of the labour force. So it is necessary to figure out why this phenomenon has become universal and how to reverse this trend. First of all, universities should be blamed for this problem, in terms of its improper specialities and outdated course design, mainly caused by their unfamiliarity with current needs in job markets. Some of these universities follow the existing trend to expand their enrollment in popular majors, neglecting the saturation tendency, and as a result, oversupply is often the case. The fact that large amounts of graduates compete for quite a few positions left in their profession make most of them turn to other fields. Meanwhile, the cultivating scheme in these universities can not keep pace with the market needs, which is often insufficient in the depth of learning, in pursuit of the richness of courses. Students studying such courses are hard to meet the standards of top talents that career fairs are finding. Taking computer science as an example, programmers with a command of coding languages are all over the place, while those who have a deep understanding of algorithms and principles of computers are urgently needed personnel. Students ’ lack of awareness of career planning, largely due to the environment they grew up in, can also be regarded as a reason. With the majority of decisions in these students ’ lives made by their parents, students rarely think about their life goals and are thereby unable to plan what to learn. They can only gain a low professional level for lack of purposeful learning. Furthermore, they tend to focus on scores and tests rather than actual experience, as the evaluation mechanism they have experienced in their growth put too much emphasis on it, which means they merely begin to consider their jobs when the graduation is approaching, thus hurrying to land a job to make a living regardless of the professional suitability. Besides, wrong focus also brings them less capability in social contact and other essential practical abilities required in the workplace, while the less competitiveness can only lead them to be replaceable, reducing the likelihood of gaining the scarce position in their majors. Both market and universities can take measures to tackle the problems. For the companies in the talent markets, they can regularly invite professors or university administrators to forums or conferences that share the latest development in the industry and demands for employees, in order to narrow the gap between the academy and working world, as well as provide universities with adequate information to guide their course structure improvement. In the meantime, universities can hold more activities related to occupational planning such as lectures from successful businessmen and visits to large enterprises. It is also advisable to add more internships to the credit requirement, to push students to be exposed to the workplace as early as possible. In conclusion, universities ’ curriculum and students ’ lack of career-planning awareness contribute to graduates’ difficulty in seeking professional-appropriate jobs. Companies and educational institutions’ actions can help address the issue.