It is thought by some that it is better to live in a city while others believe that life is better in the countryside. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A living environment plays a vital in the quality of our lives. While it is considered by some that city life is more beneficial, there are others who believe that the countryside offers more advantages. In my opinion, living in the city is a better option because of the wider range of activities it provides. Some argue that individuals residing in rural areas have a more fulfilling life as they reap the benefit of a healthier environment that nature brings. Undoubtedly, residents in the countryside have a higher level of exposure to greenery, which is highly beneficial for their psychological well-being because of its calming effect. Furthermore, they have easier access to healthy produce, leading them to maintain a sufficient level of physical health. People in Okinawa, Japan, for instance, are well-known for their longevity which is attributed to their plant-based diet with minimal amounts of processed food. Others, on the other hand, claim that city life is superior for the opportunities that residents have. A large number of amenities concentrate on an urban area, such as museums, art galleries and shopping malls. These various options for pastimes certainly improve a person's quality of life. A good example of this is Tokyo, which has a sizable number of national facilities, such as The National Science Museum and The National Kabuki Theatre. Finally, my own view is that living in the city has more plus points. In addition to the pastime options offered to city dwellers, high-quality public transportation enabling them to travel considerable distances in a short amount of time. This means that they can enjoy spending time in a regional area of the country on their days off, which is often impossible for those in the country as they have to spend additional time travelling to a large station or the airport before travelling further away. For example, Tokyo is the centre of a nationwide bullet train network, allowing passengers to easily travel to any prefecture in the country. In conclusion, I feel that although rural areas offer health benefits, residing in the city is more advantageous. It is crucial that people consider the positives and negatives before deciding on a place to live.