Many parents today organise extra classes for their children after school and at the weekends. Do you feel that this is a worthwhile thing to do or do you feel children have enough education at school? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

The academic burden on the upcoming generation is the topic of debate these days. It's not uncommon to see children attending extra classes after school or on weekends. In my,opinion this curriculum load is taking a toll on the mental and physical health of school kids and education at schools is enough to prepare them for the future. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this latest trend in society and what are the consequences of this extra burden. Parents want their kids to succeed in the future and in pursuing so they,sometimes unintendedly, put their children through hard routes. In urban areas specifically, it is common for parents to send their kids to extra classes. This happens because the success of a child is measured in marks obtained, as admissions for higher studies largely depends upon the score in school. In some of the cities in India, students start preparing for entrance exams from the sixth standard itself. This added pressure stunts the overall development of a child. It's scientifically proven that a healthy mind resides in a healthy body. Sports and extracurricular activities help children to develop emotional, social and leadership skills that are crucial for a successful career. Organisations too prefer candidates who demonstrate an all-around personality. To conclude, a society can only thrive if it produces healthy individuals. The latest trend adopted by parents to put their children through extreme academic rigour can cause damage in long term.