The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Nowadays, one of the biggest controversial issues facing the world is obesity in children. In recent decades, studies has shown that approximately 20% of children in western community suffer from excess weight. Hence, a range of triggering factors as well as consequences of this frustrating tendency will be highlighted in this paper. To begin with, there are various causes of obesity. However, in my view, one of the prominent reasons of this problem is eating disorder. Popularity intake of fast foods such as hamburgers, pizzas and fries which high in fat,salt and sugar contributes to overweight. A further possible cause of fatness is sedentary lifestyle. As, in modern society, children more and more prefer playing computer games rather than physical activities. So that, lack of inactive lifestyle gives rise to gaining weight. When it comes to effects of the obesity. it is more likely to induce chronic diseases such as blood pressure, diabetes and heart problems in adult life of children. Besides, obese children may be insulted by their peers due to their excess weight. Because, they usually suffer from loss of productivity. As a consequences of this,they may end up with mental and physical disorder. In conclusion, unhealthy eating habits as well as sedentary lifestyle lead to obesity in children. Hence, it may impact on physical and psychological state of children in an adverse aspect.