Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

Most of the criminal case in United kingdom and Australia not allow a jury to access the information about the defendant's past criminal record. But some lawyers encourage this practice should change and should be anle to give jury all the truth before reach their decision about the case. I personal agree with the lawyers suggestion in various aspects, in the following paragraphs the reason to support my opinion will be outlined. It is undeniable that criminal cases have increased a lot in last few years. Especially, in the UK and AU, the laws and regulations are really rigid in terms of allowance in the past criminal record information. This problem could encounter many juries in numerous aspects. For instance, they could not know the truth about themselves and this lead to the wrong decision and misinterpretation. The relevant scenario is when the lawyers could not help and protect their defendants since they did not know the past facts of them. Consequently, many people have to go to the prison and they don not have right to defend themselves at all. I really agree with the suggestion of the lawyer in which jury must give all the past facts to both lawyer and defendant before reaching the judgement process, because their are many benefits if people allow to know the truth. For example, they could have freedom to evaluate and analyze the case correctly. To sum up, the law and regulation in the United Kingdom and Australia should change according to the laws and regulation that restrict people to defense and protect their right.