Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in Zoos. Others, believe that there are good reasons of having Zoos. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Zoos are common around the world. Some people are of the view that they should not be kept in captivity, whereas others believe that these wild creatures should be kept in wild parks as there are some advantages to that. This essay discusses both views and give an opinion. On one hand, wild parks cause stress to wild species. In most cases, these animals are used to their natural habitat where their movements or food types are not restricted or limited. For example, big cats such as elephants or lions move from one national park like Masai Mara national park to Serengeti in such of prey. These are ecosystems linked to each other hence facilitating the movement of wild animals from the north to south and vice versa. However, enclosing them within a particular area, which is small, limits their move, hence making them stressed. On the other hand, zoos provide protection for animals that are on the verge of extinction. All around the world, there are creatures whose products are of high value. They are constantly poached and their products such as skin and tusks are moved around the world. As a result of this illegal trading, the wild population of these species keep on declining. For instance, the existence of rhinos and elephants in Kenya are threatened. It is therefore paramount to keep them in captivity so as to protect their population. In my opinion, not every wild species should be in wild parks. Those that their existence is on the line should only be kept in the zoos, whereas those whose wild population is not threatened should always be in the wild.