Some people say that the main environment problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, we are facing enormous global environmental issues. There are some people who believe that the loss of flora and fauna is the key environmental challenge of our time, whereas others are of the opinion that there are more critical environmental problems. In this essay, I am going to discuss both views and give my personal opinion. To start with, species are being lost as a result of human activities. We are seeing forests being cleared to pave way for economic activities such as farming and urban expansion. For instance, Amazon is a critical ecosystem and it is home to a wide variety of living things. However, every year we see a high rate of deforestation happening thus leading to the loss of tree cover and creatures. In addition to that, poaching activities are also reducing the wild population of animals. Many of these are being poached because of the value of their products, for example, rhinos and elephants are on the verge of extinction. On the other hand, I believe that climate change is also an environmental disaster that must be addressed urgently. We are seeing a shift in weather patterns occasioned by global warming. Many places, for instance, are facing extreme weather events such as severe flooding or high wave of heat. The cause of this is air pollution caused by transportation and industrial activities. It is therefore paramount to address the genesis of this, which is cutting down the usage of fossil fuel. In my view, any kind of environmental pollution is a threat to our planet and the existence of living things on earth. Hence, all these issues must be taken seriously and addressed in equal measure.