The most important thing about a job is how much money you earn in that job. Do you agree or disagree?

A vast majority of our adult life is spent working; hence it is important that we have an appropriate job that fulfils our aspirations. While financial remuneration is an important factor that attracts individuals towards a specific work, there are other factors of equal significance that make a job ideal. Firstly, the importance of financial security cannot be undermined in the modern materialistic world. Since a vast majority of people earn their livelihood from their workplace, it will be difficult for individuals with single source of income, to make their ends meet, from underpaying jobs. Thus underpaid employees, because of their financial burdens, may not be able to offer dedication and commitment at workplace, which in turn results in under-performance. Secondly, the educated refrain from being employed in underpaying jobs, as these are less attractive. Hence the remuneration associated, is an important factor that determines the value of a particular job. On the other hand, to glorify higher earning as the sole determiner of an ideal job is incorrect. This is because various other factors like work and life balance; working place culture and adequate recognition contribute towards satisfaction and contentment in work. Thus an astronomically higher paying job with a demanding employer, with poor social life in a tedious work place environment will lead to higher job dissatisfaction, which in turn will also promote higher attrition. Henceforth, it can be stated that apart from financial remuneration, which is a major determiner of a good occupation, job satisfaction is also an equally important associated factor that determines the value of a specific job.