People born today can expect to live longer than people in previous generations. What are some of the positive and negative implications of this phenomenon? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The advance of science has enabled humans to prolong their lives and gradually, we tend to outlive our ancestors. Albeit the world all relish a steady increase in our average life span, the potential consequences of this phenomenon are not to be overlooked. This essay will set out to elucidate some of the possible implications. Firstly, higher life expectancy entails higher living standards and better overall well-being. We would not have been able to live longer had it not been for the miraculous breakthroughs in the fields of science and technology. For example, Tuberculosis, a disease that used to be synonymous with death just a century ago, is now curable and scientists have even been able to prevent it in the first place using vaccines. Moreover, longer lives also entail higher education and safer environs, which minimize our exposure to fatal accidents. For instance, a proper student would have known better than to touch the outlets when his hands are wet because he had been about electrical conductivity in water. People living longer have born testimony to our civilization and social development in general. However, the negative aspect is that the elders are at a grave disadvantage when it comes to the ageing population. This phenomenon requires governments to set aside exorbitant savings to invest in the elders' healthcare system, including nursing homes and dementia centres. Therefore, despite having devoted their lives to work and finally getting some rest, senior citizens are often thought of as a burden to their younger generations since they can no longer contribute to the economy. Some are even put into communal centres by their offspring and consequentially, confined to a solitary lifestyle. A prime example would be how Japanese adults treat their parents. Many choose to let their parents live alone in the countryside since they could not afford to cover their expenses. On the extreme end of the spectrum, it is common for grandmothers and grandfathers to perish without the knowledge of other relatives. In conclusion, while many people enjoy greater life quality and expectancy, things are especially tough for the elders in many regions of the world. The merits and demerits of the current situation have not yet been weighed against each other because it is impossible to decide whether the happiness of these senior citizens is worth sacrificing for that of younger generations.