Many people agree that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

It is an irrefutable fact that public transportation reduces air pollution. A segment of society is convinced that public transportation has to be free in big cities. This would encourage many people to use busses and trains. However, there are problems associated with it. The following paragraphs will analyze the pros and cons of free public transportation. To commence with the benefits, first and foremost, free of charge public transportation would persuade more people to prefer busses and trains as means of transportation. This in turn would tackle the issues like air pollution and traffic congestion. Secondly, in some cities busses would be more reliable as they would not have monetary benefits from passengers. More specifically, for instance, many busses run out of schedule because they spend more or less time on some bus stops trying to collect more people and thereby, get more revenue. On the downside, public transportation services would be a monetary burden for the government. It would be difficult for the government to sustain it. This, in turn, would affect the quality and reliability of provided services. Additionally, in order to subsidise services, the government would have to use public money. This would be done at the expense of other sectors. Take, for example, education and healthcare. In order to make public transport free, authorities have to spend less on services like education and healthcare. To conclude, free public transportation would facilitate clean air and less traffic congestion in metropolitans. Even so, the detrimental effects on the economy cannot be ignored.