Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

Globally, many countries have put an upper cap on the number of working hours for their employees. These laws have been introduced primarily to avoid their exploitation by their employers. This is a positive development as it helps in maintaining a work-life balance, and the employee can utilise the extra time available for further skill enhancement. To begin with, restricting the number of hours at the office safeguards the professionals from being exploited by the organisation. Managers frequently burden their subordinates with assignments that require extra time to be devoted at the workplace. However, the company does not provide any financial incentive to its junior workforce in such a scenario. Therefore, it becomes imperative that key regulations regarding an upper limit on the number of hours at work are brought in by the government. For instance, in India, the government has made mandatory, an 8-hour shift for the blue-collared employees to protect them from being exploited. One of the key benefits of implementing such a law is that it helps an employee devote time to its family. Another benefit to consider is that it provides the workers with the flexibility to utilise the available hours to hone their skill further. People working in corporates have a family to look after to and therefore, it becomes essential that they get enough time after their job to fulfil those needs. Moreover, employees can make use of the additional time to learn something new in order to stay competitive and subsequently productive at the workplace. To illustrate, many organisations are providing incentives to their employees who want to upgrade their skillset. In addition to that, they are being offered additional paid holidays so that they feel reinvigorated with their loved ones. Thus, in my opinion, restricting working hours is a positive trend as it helps an employee maintain work-life balance and gives him an opportunity to learn something novel. To conclude, many nations are increasingly limiting the amount of time spent at office for their workers. This is required as it protects them from being mishandled by the company. I strongly agree that this is a positive development since it allows the workers to upgrade their skillset and stay competitive. In addition to that, they gain peace of mind by devoting time to their family.