Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In today's materialistic world, advertising is one of the most important tool for marketing. Companies advertise their products on various platforms to promote sales and indeed it has been proved profitable by doing so. In my opinion, this trend has more of a negative impact on society. We will be discussing about the drawback in this essay. To begin with, people come across advertisements almost everywhere, whether it is while watching a video, reading or just walking on the street. Many of these have immoral content which is unacceptable to society. Tobacco and alcoholic beverage producing companies promoting their products can influence teenagers to get addicted to these bad habits. Though some countries have strict regulations on showcasing such content on any forms of media, These companies market their brand through other accessories. For instance, India has banned advertisement of tobacco and alcohol products, Therefore these companies promote their brand through music cd's and soda beverages. Secondly, Advertisements can presuade people for unnecessary spending. The demand for Luxurious products which are mostly beyond affordability can have a negative effect financially. For example, Apple iphones iPhone adverts are so compelling that people purchase these irrespective of the price. Moreover, Many of these adverts can be exaggeration of the actual product such as, Health products convincing people that their products can make them healthy irrespective of the importance of exercise and healthy diet. Whereas some showing medical plants in their advert, can be easily mistaken for herbal product by customers. In conclusion, I believe that advertisements have a negative effect on the customers since most of them only show the bright side of the picture, ingnoring the possible harmful effects it can have on the consumers.