some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play\ with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the children of having a large number of toys?

Toys are an essential component of every childhood; without toys, no childhood can ever be considered complete! Now, one might look at this statement and dismiss this statement by saying that toys are a modern innovation and the perfect example of how consumerism has penetrated every aspect of our lives. But, I would like to contradict that by stating toys have been discovered by archaeologists in the graves of children buried millennia ago; this clearly shows that toys have been an important part of human societies since time immemorial. Now, that we have established the place of toys in our societies let us discuss some of their benefits. Young children are extremely curious and are easily entertained by the most trivial of things and find great joy in them; this is the reason most toys that are created have flashy colours or make noises when moved; this ofcourse is the primary function of all toys - providing endless joy to kids. Having a large number of toys ensures that if and when a child is bored with a particular plaything they can always move on to a different one, ensuring that they are always happy. Some other benefits include the development of logical reasoning and the development of fundamental motor skills; some examples of toys which aid this are puzzles and yoyos respectively. Hence, we can say that having a large number of toys could be beneficial for faster and better development of a child. But of course, every coin has two sides; so let us now discuss what possible downsides could exist of having too many things to play with. Firstly, having too many playthings could make a child take the things he owns for granted, and develop an arrogant attitude and make him value his possessions less.