Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All students should be required to study art and music in secondary school. Use specific reasons to support your answer.

Engaging with arts and music is essential to the human experience. While some people argue that arts and music education ought to be a part of the secondary school system others deny it. In this essay, I will discuss, why I believe that arts and music in junior grade are related to behaviours that contribute to the health of civil society. An important point to consider is that arts educational experience has a positive impact on academics. There has been promising outcomes in maths and reading scores of students entitled in art classes. A recent survey in a school in Leeds, for instance, revealed that students engaged in art education agreed that schoolwork is more enjoyable, makes them think in new ways and activities keep them interested in school. Because schools play a pivotal role in cultivating the next generation, it is imperative to reflect on the fundamentals of the well-rounded education system which includes arts and music as well. Adding to this, another benefit of arts and music is emotional stability. It is advisable for teachers to instil the love of music and encouragement of playing an instrument. An appreciation of music specifically classical requires greater mental engagement and patience than any other skill. In an era of shorter attention spans and immediate gratification, a love of complex melodies can serve as a counterbalance. The benefits of playing an instrument are self-evident. Decades of substantial research support the claim that it aids in cognitive development generally and one's creativity more specifically. This is apart from the discipline one must develop through years of intensive practice. To conclude, though other subjects in secondary education require focus, there is a great value in sustaining the interest in arts and music. I agree that a substantial increase in arts educational experience will have a remarkable impact on student's academic, social and emotional outcomes.