Some parents think that childcare centres provide the best services for children of preschool age. Other working parents think that family members such as grandparents will be better caregivers for their young children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that when parents are at work, close relations provide the best care to young children, while others believe daycare centres offer a better option. While relatives can usually be trusted to take care of youngsters properly, this essay argues that childcare professionals are better equipped to care for young children due to the training they receive. Many parents in full-time employment prefer to leave their young ones with grandparents or siblings when they are at work because they trust them more. This is because they feel their child will be safer with someone from within the family. For example, working mothers in South Africa often ask their parents to take care of their children because childcare centres have a high turnover rate, which means there are too many new staff members that the parents do not know very well. However, this essay argues that a family connection does not guarantee that a person can take care of young children well. Others say that daycare centres are a better option due to the fact that their employees are skilled professionals. Many of those employed in these centres have been rigorously trained in how to nurture children ’s growth. For instance, most childcare centres in developed countries require their employees to have completed certificates in early childhood development. For this reason, this essay believes that the children left in the care of these centres are better looked after. In conclusion, although some parents may prefer the bond of trust inherent within a family when choosing a caregiver for their children, this essay finds that children are better off under the care of daycare centres due to their staff’s professional training and experience.