Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

Psychological studies conducted on the human brain have made it possible to understand the influence of external signals on our psyche. Notably, experts claim that colours affect our mood in a very noticeable way; thus, using specific colour patterns in many infrastructures and everyday places such as hospitals and work offices might be critically beneficial to those who visit them. This essay will discuss that despite being irrelevant for many people, colours can indeed influence someone's reaction or state of mind according to the situation. Vast demographies stuck to the principle that functionality outweighs appearance, and official buildings opened to the whole community should stay plain and without extravagant decorations, including flamboyant colours. As support to this, white surfaces might convey a sense of authority and austerity on top of looking clean and tidy. For instance, people working in the medical field claim that hospital rooms should not be too colourful as nurses and doctors should focus on the patient and not on the surroundings. These people also deny the beneficial effects of colourful sceneries, comparing them to palliative cures, which work effectively only because of a placebo effect. Although colourful decorations might seem redundant when conceiving a hospital or a work setting, recent psychological studies proved that colours could alter one's attitude. For example, bright and warm colours can transmit joyfulness and vibrant energy to those who seem discouraged or frustrated. In contrast, calm and deep blue-shading colours usually convey comfortableness and steadiness to cure stressful environments. Knowing these psychological tricks can help us project aesthetically functioning locals, improving the life quality of those who access them. In conclusion, while old-school people might still feel unconfident regarding utilizing colour schemes when designing a public infrastructure, people should focus on the psychological factors that might affect the public's spirit. This essay discussed that the influence that colours exercise on our minds is undeniable, and it is valid both for workers or patients. Finally, colours do make a difference, although it might just be for a conditioning mechanism.