some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A French proverb says: ”A man who knows two languages is worth two men.” However, some people think there is just one reason for learning a new language and that is travelling abroad or having a job there. Although there are some other people who believe there should be more reason for language learning. I agree with the latter group and will discuss my idea in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, it is obvious that immigration and travelling to a new country need some language skills. That is because either working or travelling needs communication with local people and even if your destination or responsibilities is prescheduled there is also the possibility of facing and dealing with natives out of plan. For,example in,Colombia if you do not know Spanish you will probably run into trouble, because in that country there is always the possibility of needing local people. On the other hand, there are so many other reasons for learning a new language. Language is one of human’s achievements which is not totally dedicated to one special place. For,instance Spanish may be related to Spain but it is also spoken in some other countries. A language related to mankind's achievements more than places. For illustration some literary masterpieces like “Searching for the lost times” does not belong to France only, it is a universal text which belongs to all Francophones no matter where they are or their nationality is. If the human does not know another language surely will lose pleasure and maybe stay back on some levels. Nowadays, learning languages is one of the most important and somehow urgent skills. That is because, it helps people to get closer to each other, gain more of the current diversity of cultural products. Furthermore, the number of cultural phenomena is so high which does not give to all translators the opportunity of translating everything, so people will need themselves in this condition. In conclusion, although some people believe second or third languages are required for trips or businesses, there are a lot of minds in this world who believe this skill will be needed for more than that. In this regard, I believe being bilingual or even multilingual helps us to be more effective and productive in our lives.