Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Every country has its own cultural background to which some believe that the visitors should also adhere, while another group denies imposing such awkward restrictions that would make the visitors feel uncomfortable. I would have to agree with the latter as I feel it isn't a piece of cake to adapt to a new traditional custom, especially if its a short visit to that country. There are opinions that foreign visitors should try to adjust to the cultural practices of the visiting country as their way of dressing, behaviour and dining habits may drastically differ among the residents of the touring place. This may showcase the tourists separately from the others, which could draw unnecessary attractions among the local citizens. As most of the tourists are usually unaware of the rules and cultural restrictions imposed on the foreign soil, their acts may infringe the local rules leading to punishment or hurting the feelings of the locals. One such significant incident was the arrest of the French Prime minister on Indian soil due to the public display of affection towards his wife on his visit to India. However, I firmly believe that suffocating the tourists to pursue the cultural traditions of the touring nation is not fair as it would significantly affect the tourism of the country. It would create a bad impression among the tourists as most of them would have travelled mainly with the intention to visit famous places rather than exploring the customs of the local population. One cannot be forced to follow a different diet, spiritual beliefs and behaviour towards fellow countrymen just because they are in a different country with different culture. To conclude, I stand with my statement that foreigners should not be forced to follow the traditional customs of the visiting country as it would cripple them being unable to adapt to the new traditions. Instead, letting them free to enjoy the visit in their natural way would help both the locals to learn a different culture as well as enhance the experience of tourists on their visit to the dream destination.