Today, the high sales of popular goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the world today, advertising has advanced to such an extent that media brands and their representatives have mastered the art of speaking to one’s feelings and making them believe that they require something, even when they have absolutely no need for it. As technology progresses and the various platforms that are available for advertising, it is easier for companies to showcase their goods. Be it you driving on the highway, opening up a newspaper, scrolling through social media just to see what your friends are up to, or even just walking into a shop to buy a basic necessity, there is some form of advertising, sometimes making you notice something that you previously had no interest in whatsoever. Media houses are improving the way they advertise by learning more and more how to grasp at a person’s feelings. For example, they know life has become so fast paced, that people will often fall for goods that appear to make something happen faster, be it weight loss, for instance, or even cooking. With so many surveys always being done, access to our search history, etc. advertisers use this research to advertise. They learn what platform to use, what colours peak different people’s attention, what form of advertising to use, and the list goes on. In conclusion, I would say that I agree that to a large extent, it is the power of advertising that is the reason for the success of the high sales of popular goods and not always because the item is a need by the purchaser.