Popular events like the football World Cup and other international occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotion In a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

I think conducting famous game's cannot be the fundamental way to maintain strong international relationships. Sports can be one of the reasons for the countries to end rivalry but not an ultimate solution. World famous games like olympics which is held once in 4 years in different countries welcomes players from their rival territories irrespective of the differences, with complete devotion. While on one hand Sports can contribute to world peace, on the other hand, If we look closer, two nations are competing with each other. Clearly, there exists a sense of hatred amongst them. For instance, Cricket matches between India and Pakistan are always big where full of tensions overflow. In the worst scenario, the troubles caused by losing games affect the players directly. The rival nations have their patriotic emotions explode in an aggressive way. At times, we come across instances, where games can contribute to ending the conflicts between nations. In 2008, Turkey and Armenia teams were set to play a world cup and the Turkish president accepted. Armenia loosened visa restrictions so that Turkish fans could join the game. The match opened new diplomatic channels between the countries. To conclude, Though international sporting events can be one of the good ways to ease tensions, I believe that sports alone cannot promote peaceful international relationships.