People born today can expect to live longer than people in previous generations. What are some of the positive and negative implications of this phenomenon? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The advance of science has enabled humans to prolong their lives and gradually, we tend to outlive our ancestors. Albeit the world all relish a steady increase in our average lifespan, the potential consequences of this phenomenon are not to be overlooked. This essay will set out to elucidate some of the possible implications. Firstly, as life expectancy gets higher, people are expected to maintain their mental agility and physical well-being because they would need to renew themselves over and over. That would result in generations of health-conscious beings who establish healthy lifestyles and habits, not only young adults and but also the elderly. Professionally, employees are required to constantly learn new things and hone their skills as they are likely to work longer than their predecessors if their lifespan increases. Therefore, as these generations age, robust senior citizens are likely to replace the decrepit image they have been known for centuries. For example, in the near future, grandparents would go on camping and teach their grandkids outdoor sports instead of lying lonely in a nursing home waiting for relatives to pay a visit. Moreover, this overwhelming need for self-care would result in better healthcare systems and an influx of sports facilities as well as beauty centres. This positive feedback loop where a long-lived generation has provided the foundation for their offspring to be longer-lived will always ensure us of higher life quality. However, it is the elders who are at a grave disadvantage when it comes to the ageing population. This phenomenon demands government to set aside exorbitant savings to invest in the elders' healthcare system, including nursing homes and dementia centres. Therefore, despite having devoted their lives to work and finally getting some rest, senior citizens are often thought of as a burden to their younger generations since they can no longer contribute to the economy. Some are even put into communal centres by their offspring and consequentially, confined to a solitary lifestyle. A prime example would be how Japanese adults treat their parents. Many choose to let their parents live alone in the countryside since they could not afford to cover their expenses. On the extreme end of the spectrum, it is common for grandmothers and grandfathers to perish without the knowledge of other relatives. In conclusion, while many people enjoy greater lives, things are especially tough for the elders in many regions of the world. The merits and demerits of the current situation have not yet been weighed against each other because it is impossible to decide whether the happiness of these senior citizens is worth sacrificing for that of our posterity.