Some people think that watching sport is waste of leisure time. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, sports have earned countless of viewers all around the world like never before. However, some reckon it is a wastage of leisure time for people who watch sport. I agree to some extent with that statement and this article shall explain why. To begin with, the majority of people who contemplate sport are usually admirers of a team or an athlete. Being a long time and loyal fan might be the reason why they have such passion for these recreational activities. They consider it as a part of their life as if they were to worship a god. That instilled passion drives them to always follow their favourite clubs or athletes. For example, Ronaldo and Messi have an unbelievable fan base and Manchester United and Real Madrid have the most supporters on the planet. That said, sports can be considered to form part of many people's lives. Nevertheless, admiration can become an obsession. Many individuals tend to spend excessive amount of time on their favourite game. As a result, it leads them to waste a lot of time and energy in vain where they could have used them to do something productive. Being a fan is not a problem but there must be a limit. These moments could be also dedicated to oneself where talents and skills could be developed. Secondly, these precious hours could be spent by learning and performing a sport. For instance, in my locality, there are football matches that are organised for the local people each week. Therefore, enjoying oneself by doing some physical activities could be an alternative. In conclusion, it cannot be denied that someone can be a sport viewer but it must not become an obsession. Leisure time must be used wisely and always ask yourself if you are being productive or not.