Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Since car ownership has surged dramatically over the last three decades, many cities worldwide face severe congestions at the moment. For the lower traffic volumes in an urban area, the main factors should be monitored and rectified to discourage people from using their cars by governments. Individual drivers tend to consider personal transports as more convenient for urban lives. Their cars take them just to their various destinations such as shopping malls, theaters, and business meetings, not straightly reached by public transportations. In addition, the preferable facilities are primarily located in the central city, always congested nearby main roads. According to a recent research on urban traffic jams, urban residents have spent 1 month stopping on the streets meaninglessly waiting for traffic lights over the past 1 year. Governments should do something for it. Firstly, more convenient transports as alternatives to the personal vehicles are needed to meet people’s desires. For example, EU countries succeeded in reducing their traffic jams by introducing public bikes over the cities. Citizens have recognized that the alternatives were more beneficial to get to their various destinations than their cars. Moreover, cleaner air was a big reward for the people. Secondly, policymakers should redesign facilities arrangements. Specifically, the main structures are always likely to gather too many crowds in the city center, so they should be separated into several outskirts. Then, visitors are going to different places suitable for their purposes. Lots of civil governments have implemented the decentralization plans and mostly achieved the performance they expected before. To sum up, people’s preference for cars, centralization of the urban area has caused traffic jams worse. Therefore, governments should support better alternatives for citizens like public bikes and transfer the facilities to the outskirts to reduce the conflict problem.