It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

History is an attractive subject and is compulsory at many levels of school. Some people find that it is more beneficial for students to get knowledge about their hometown's ancient stories than the world’s one. Personally, I support the idea that having thorough insights into what happened in the country where a child is born and grows up and develops his patriotism. On the one hand, it is true that local history provides a foundation for the youth to explore their origin and also helps them to promote a sense of patriotism. For example, many Vietnamese generations had suffered from numerous mental injuries and deaths during the wars against Western enemies and thousands of Vietnam soldiers sacrificed their life to protect the country’s independence and peace. Therefore, young generations must know about these victories in order to fully appreciate and be more responsible for saving the liberty and tranquility of the nation. Furthermore, it is essential that the youth are considered to be the leaders of the future, so they should be taught about nation's history to contribute in the nation's development. On the other hand, world history should not be ignored because it is also related to the local one and students should widen their understanding of the subject. Nowadays, more and more high school graduated dream of studying overseas due to globalization. Hence, those who do not have knowledge about world history may struggle to access international education. Studying about countries’ ancient stories also enhances children's horizons of the civilization and developments of humans. In conclusion, I hold a firm belief that local history is always a subject that every school child should be educated first because it brings many benefits and worthy tradition to children before they gain more lectures about other countries’ history.