Some people think that it is difficult for poor people or people from rural areas to go to university. So that the universities should make it especially easy for them. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Some people call for easier access to universities for students with a humble background. While it may give more chances for certain kinds of pupils, I personally reckon that this policy will have serious negative impacts on both society and individuals. First of all, special treatments for disadvantaged students in college admission can undermine social justice since it is hard to give a clear demarcation of family status and the extent of reduction in requirements. This fuzzy boundary not only adds troubles in enrollment decisions, but also provides some opportunistic people with initiative to take advantages of the policy for their own interests. These well-off families may pretend to be poor or find ways to change their domicile address to rural areas, in order to increase possibilities of being admitted, thus making the policy bring no actual benefit to the real helpless children and further increasing the gap between rich and poor. Meanwhile, some hard work candidates from cities may be rejected compared with appliers from countryside even though they have better performance in high school, which can only stir up social controversy and disturb the equality in such a widely-concerned social issue. Furthermore, for the individuals’ sake, the simpler entrance to tertiary education will restrict personal development, in terms of knowledge acquisition and self-confidence. The students with less knowledge base will find it hard to keep pace with the teaching progress in universities that are designed for the majority of undergraduates that have adequate learning experience in the past, supporting them with more effective techniques and capability to study. These incompetent students will also meet obstacles to cooperate with other students, for example, when finishing group assignments, leading to less social contact with others as a result. Such looser bond with classmates and the lower scores in courses unconsciously blow to their confidence in personal abilities, exerting a long-term and irreversible influence on their future life, which is much worse than lower-level college education. On the other hand, the students indeed were formerly held back by their family condition can gain a chance to change their destinies and social classes, since this protective policy giving them better academic atmosphere and resources to display their talent to the full. Those with great curiosity in learning and perseverance have large potential to catch up their peers in their universities’ lives, for the simple reason that they are previously limited by the hard access to efficient learning such as a lack of latest books and advanced equipment, rather than their own abilities or intelligence. In these cases, the caring consideration in admission can also be regarded as measures to improve social mobility to some extent. In conclusion, the drawbacks of making specially easy access to higher education for disadvantaged students outweigh its benefits to just a limited number of pupils.