In many cities the construction of new houses and office buildings is not controlled. This leads to people building in whatever style they want without thinking about design. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is important for people to decide in which type and style of accommodation they want to live and work in. This has led to increased Change the form of the verb increase show examples in the tendency of residents and investors to build buildings according to their wishes and local government planners are not involved in these constructions. While some believe that this is a positive trend, others disagree. In this essay, I will discuss, both the benefits and drawbacks of the above and explain why I believe that the disadvantages of designing buildings according to one’s own wishes have more negative impacts. There are two major benefits of constructing buildings of one’s own design. The first is the space in a home. One can build a home according to his family needs and required room number. In Pakistan, for instance, there are big families comprising of 4 to 6 persons, and all need their own rooms and privacy. Another point to consider is the human nature of owning unique things. The different designs are a mark of their own personality and character revealed in the specific design of the construction. Although, positives of space and privacy and own mark is essential features, the negatives of monetary misuse and loss of the city’s traditional style are not negligible. In terms of negatives, in my view, monetary misuse and loss of the city’s traditional style are essential. The main point is that building huge residences can result in a competition of making grand designs between citizens. Citizens with big revenues such as businessmen want to show off their wealth and to do so they invest in luxurious homes not only interiorly but with the extravagant exterior as well. Adding to this, is the loss of the region's identity which is a threat to the cultural heritage of a country. If everyone will construct huge buildings different from one another, the originality of that area will be lost. It will be more of a museum with sight-seeing showpieces but culturally an unknown city. To conclude, houses with grand designs and beautiful architecture are the right of every homeowner. The positives of space for family and owners imprint on the property is, however, in my view, outweighed by the negatives of monetary exploitation in building distinct houses and damage of cultural relics of a city.