Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

As transportation has become extremely advanced, edibles can be conveniently produced in one place and consumed in another thousand miles away. Nonetheless,I think this trend is largely a negative development due to the harm it causes to local residents and the environment. This essay will argue with present arguments and evidence to prove my points. Food trade bears consequences for local farmers who produce export crops. Because the majority of cultivation efforts is focused on the production of export supply, provision for the local communities is oftentimes neglected. Subsequently, many nations where agriculture occupies a relatively large portion of national income struggle with the starvation of their own people. As if to exacerbate the issue, governments in some countries subsidize the growing of foodstuff to be sold to foreign buyers. This regrettable phenomenon is most prominent in third world nations such as Ethiopia. Ethiopia ranks among the ten largest coffee exporters worldwide; nevertheless, the nation is wracked by famine as the livelihood of hundreds of thousands of its inhabitants are severely threatened. Food trade also has adverse influences on the environment. Firstly, the transportation of foodstuffs by aeroplanes or ships emit greenhouse gases, aggravating the urgent issue of global warming. Secondly, cultivating the same types of plants lead to soil deprivation as the nutrients necessary for those particular crops are depleted so quickly they do not have time to replenish. To address this problem, many farmers start to use synthetic fertilizers which poison the surrounding ecosystems as well as the harvest to be consumed which only doubles the damage. Although producers have begun to employ measures such as crop rotation and organic fertilizer, these solutions are not as popular as they should be. For example, in Vietnam, there have been instances where organisms in a pond adjacent to crop fields die in masses, and the major cause has been determined to be excessive use of fertilizers. In conclusion, the international trade of foodstuff is evidently a counterproductive turn of events due to the damages it brings upon local communities and natural environments. Therefore, governments should restrict their national food export in the near future to protect their citizens and the ecosystems within their borders.