Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in traveling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, people are argued about locate more apartments close to the central part of the city to replace the useless green area. They believe it is the best way to reduce the meaningless commuting hour. However, I oppose the idea. First of all, it would be no place for workers to relieve their stress. It cannot be denied that spending leisure time at lawns or gardens during the lunch break is important for employees, especially those who live in metropolises. They could chat with friends about the massive work they are assigned or just complain about the working environment in the company. After that, they would have a brand-new attitude and get back to work. Thus, the time spent at parks motivates them to face those challenging tasks. In addition to that, employees could also do some exercise like jogging or cycling at parks, which benefits both their health and life. Obviously, there are various ways to cut down the time for long-distance travelling, eliminating green areas may not the ideal method to do that. For example, develop public transport systems like the metro and railway could be an effective way to help people save time. In addition, the bus company could increase routes for popular rental places, so workers, especially women workers won’t be worried about the potential safety emergency after work. Not only the public transport could help to tackle the issue, but also the companies themselves could adjust their management system, meanwhile, offering more flexible regulations of taking attendance. For instance, many companies nowadays encourage to use various methods to share messages, through emails or video calls. For them, it is not necessary to show up every day with a fixed timetable. In conclusion, I would favour to maintain the green among busy commercial and businesses, and leave some space for people as recreational grounds, relocating parks and gardens may not be the ideal way to handle the real issue.