Every year several langauges die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The distinction in languages and culture defines the nation and its diversity. However, due to the people's inclination towards the concept of having fewer languages across the globe, many languages are endangered and few of them had already been faded away. The following essay discusses the reasons behind the extinction of languages, why people find it easier to have fewer languages and how this may impact society over the period. There are several reasons for the extinction of languages, one of them is internet usage and social media. This has enabled the exchange of thoughts and ideas across the globe which in turn pushing people towards westernization. During this process, many tend to use 'English' as their base language because it is widely accepted, and it makes an individual comfortable to express their perception. Adding on this, in many countries, English is the official language along with their mother tongue, which endorses the extensive use of the English language. In addition to the aforementioned points, the comfort of sharing the same linguistic ability bolster the sense of connectivity and belonging. Moreover, when people travel to a foreign land, they find it easier to communicate for their basic needs. Not only this reduces the effort of learning a new language but also ensures hassle-free travel or visits to a foreign land. However, the reduction in extant vernacularism comes with several adversities. First and foremost, we will lose the historical importance of art and literature produced in various dialects because the higher the inclination towards similar vernacular ability, the lower will be the number of people to explain and understand such engrossing history. Additionally, the curiosity of an individual to become bilingual will fade with this similarity. Also, people may begin to find the world banal because of the depreciating diversity and curiosity. To sum up, the diversity and uniqueness in languages across the world help to maintain the history and the conservation of spoken languages supplicate curiosity as well as learning, which the presence of fewer languages would not yield.