In advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasis that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Currently, companies give a lot of emphasis on the specifications of their latest products in their advertisements. In this essay, I will be discussing the reasons why this is the case and the negative impact it implies before arriving at a conclusion. One reason is that people cannot allocate their money for proper use. If a well-known developer prepares a luxurious product release party, people will think that it a requirement for them to secure a slot. Apple Inc., for instance, releases iPhone products bi-yearly and advertise it extravagantly that buyers will think that it is essential to purchase the latest model. They even camp outside of stores just to be the first in line. Because of this, the money of consumers will be used for purchasing unessential items, instead of payment for utility bills and other priorities. In addition, consumers fall to the trap of false advertisements given by companies. For example, a brand will exaggerate the presentation of their so-called improved bag from their latest collection, but in fact they just added one compartment. The public, in turn, will be purchasing this with high expectations but in reality, nothing much has changed. Consequently, this would be detrimental not only for the businesses but also for the buyers. The credibility of the former suffers due to negative reviews and the latter puts their money into waste. In summary, sellers often advertise give emphasis on the minimal changes on their merchandise or services. I strongly believe that this causes more drawbacks that advantages. This is because people will not be able to diversify their expenses. Additionally, it can pose negative impact to both because of expectations from advertisements.