In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Nowadays people are not confined to few career options like; hunting, farming, and knitting clothes. There is a broad spectrum of jobs now, and it is only ever increasing. Because of this spectrum, in some cultures, children are told that they can achieve whatever they want if they try hard enough. Although this is a heart-warming message, there are a few disadvantages to it. This message has a tremendous positive effect on many people like the Brazilian author Paulo Coelho. When he first published "The Alchemist", only two copies were sold at months apart and from the same customer. Had he lost hope and not contacted multiple publishers, we would not have had the worldwide famous story. Thus, if Paulo Coelho and others did not try hard enough, a lot of beautiful works would not be witnessed. Unfortunately, however, not all stories end up with great success or a happy ending. A lot of people keep trying to pursue their dreams without a limit until they are exhausted, depressed and anxious. Clinton Kane and Andrew Foy are university dropouts and talented guitarists. Despite their professional guitar skills, beautiful original albums and uploading on multiple platforms, they have a small audience, and have poor mental health. Thus, trying hard without a pre-defined limit can lead to unfavorable outcomes. Conclusively, encouraging children to pursue their loved careers has had its positive outcomes. However, I think setting reasonable goals, a timeline and a limit to this pursue is important so as not to try indefinitely and have negative drawbacks on mental health. If those goals are not achieved in the timeline depicted, the child or youth should start pursuing another dream.