Today, the high sales of popular goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the impact of advertising, not the real needs of people, leads to the prominence of commodities and the growth of selling. I totally agree with this idea. As far as advertising corporations are concerned, they are promoting the products through the media with the aim of high sales. People are exposed to commercials inevitably when they are utilizing mass media such as the internet, television and newspaper. In other words, individuals can not surf the web, watch a movie or show on TV and read the newspaper without encountering the promotions. In my opinion, these perpetual ads would affect consumers’ subconscious and direct their decisions to purchase what these advertisement operations promote. Furthermore, people, specifically the young, try to keep up with the joneses and follow in sport and entertainment celebrities’ footsteps. Not only do they manipulate youngsters into buying products they do not really need, but also, despite the fact that people from this walk of life are much less in comparison with normal people, they have a constructive impact on society’s desire. Admittedly, people would like to buy goods their favourite actor or actress influences rather than the proper one. And, under this circumstance, the goods which were promoted will sell highly. In conclusion, I believe that the high sales of fame commodities demonstrate the profound effect of ads and not the real society’s need.