Today, the high sales of popular goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, advertisements have a great influence on people’s minds as humans are exposed to them wherever they go. As a result, it is often believed that they force individuals to purchase goods even when it is not required. I completely agree with the notion and will prove my point in the ensuing paragraphs. Smart designing of adverts attracts not only those sections of the society for whom they are made. For an instance, “Hide & Seek” which is a famous cookie selling brand aims children for selling their products. However, the way of displaying the advert also catches adults to satisfy their cravings. Moreover, even if there is no need of a commodity, commercials manifest such a condition which may happen in future if not bought now. Airtel is one such company that has come up with an advertisement showcasing that its SIM card provides connectivity even in hilly areas. For this sole reason, it sells them at higher prices though no individual prefers to visit a remote destination for his holiday each time. On the other hand, advertisements play an important role to educate people about their needs according to the changing lifestyle. For example, “Colgate”, a toothpaste brand let individuals know the necessity of brushing at least twice a day to avoid growth of germs after eating sugary foods. All in all, influencing people through adverts has resulted in high sales of famous goods and not their necessity except some cases.