in the past, people wore their traditional clothes and followed their cultures. these days, most people wear similar clothes and therefore look very similar to one another. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Clothing has changed dramatically over the last few years. In the past, people used to wear traditional dresses that symbolized their culture and identity, whereas nowadays, the dressing pattern is becoming increasingly uniform across different countries. In this essay, I will discuss why I believe the latter is a good trend because modern attire is comfortable, economical and prevent discrimination among the public. There are several advantages to wearing the same wardrobe everywhere. The main benefit is that they are readily available all over the world. For example, western outfits like shirts and trousers are not only adaptable but also convenient and they are available in every store all over the world. This makes life comfortable for people travelling or living abroad. Adding to this point, when everyone wears similar outfits, it prevents a lot of dress based inequity. Indeed, wearing similar clothes across regions creates a sense of unity among people. In other words, it helps individuals to break the cultural barrier and reduce discrimination. For instance, an Indian and American in the same outfit look similar in his/her personality and presentations. Hence, the world is shrinking its differences and uniting together to be a stronger global village. Despite this, if people insist on wearing their traditional outfits regardless of where they live, they will put themselves in difficulty. In America, for example, shopping for a sari can be a bit of a hassle and make life difficult for an Indian woman living there. The argument goes if one is comfortable wearing western outfits, they can save themselves the trouble of importing native wear from their country. However, this does not mean that folks should stop wearing their traditional costumes. They can and they should wear whatever they are comfortable in. Even so, the trend of wearing the same kind of clothes everywhere is irrefutable. In conclusion, although to preserve the ancient traditions, people can wear ethnic clothes on festive occasions. In my view, people wearing the same type of clothing is a positive development for society as a whole.