Some people think schools should only teach students academic subjects. Others think schools should also teach students how to discriminate between right and wrong. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

Should schools solely instill academic knowledge involving math, science, technology, literature, etc., to our students, or combine teaching students how to distinguish between right and wrong along with academic study? It seems like a debatable question. In this essay, I shall discuss both views and explain why I firmly believe it is of importance to teach both. Some people tend to believe that teaching students academic subjects is the only thing that should be done in the school for various reasons. For one thing, it is widely considered that students with a solid academic background are more likely to pursue decent occupations. Consequently, not only can they make a living with their decent salaries, but they also contribute to the development of our society in the long run. For another, they believe that the parent should teach children the correct value rather than the school teachers. Hence, they consider schools should only teach students academic subjects. However, other believe that school should also shoulder the responsibility to ensure that each student needs to be developed with the correct value. After all, nobody expects the students they have been training for many years to turn out to play a role in assisting the terrorists or doing some extreme things. Hence, helping students build the correct value in school should be prioritized. To summarize, although there are numerous benefits brought by only teaching students academic subjects, it is equally indispensable to add some moral lessons in order to help students make the right decision in the future. Taking all the above factors into account, I recommend that both academic subjects and moral lessons be incorporated into schools' curriculum.