In some cultures, children are encouraged to compete against each other. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

In present, there are many skilled people in this world. Many children are expected to be more talented and competitive with others. As can be seen in Thai society, children are expected from their parents to be popular and in high-ranked schools since kindergarten, repeating in primary schools, secondary schools and universities. This can foster their mindset to compete against each other. Therefore, being competitive can greatly affect children in both positive and negative ways, which this essay tends to discuss on the two sides. To begin, there are many challenging tasks that encourage human to be competitive. For instance, the education system and prizes from adults award to top-performing children in classes, or parents give rewards from getting full marks on examinations. Continue to the career paths that companies choose to employ the most qualified applicants. Since, looked down by their parents with high expectations and different perspectives, children try to raise themselves up to beat adults' contempt. To simplify, reaching goals is to complete the tasks. Children are trained to be diligent and responsible. Thus, the expected results will be satisfying, which is the advantage in competing that they will produce quality outcomes. However, competitions tend to shape children some bad behaviours, such as unfriendly manners, selfishness, and cruelty to others as they have to be superior than others. Moreover, parents ’ pressure and expectation affect the children ’s physical and mental health. To explain, forcing children to study extra classes or read intensive academic books can cause them mental distress as well as bad ergonomic physical positions. Even though, skills and talents competing against others do not only shape children to be diligent and have good disciplinary, but also negatively affect on children ’s mind and body. Therefore, children and parents have to balance positive and negative effects to be successful. As can be seen in Thai society, beginning from kindergarten that their parent expected them to be in popular and high-ranked primary schools, again in secondary schools and universities. Even, looking down from adults for who have different paths from the expectation or the failure. So, children to try raise themselves up to beat the expectations and successes.