The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create? What are some solutions?

It is true that the world of work has becoming competitive and thus, the older employees must compete with younger ones. This has caused some negative problems and some measures can be adopted to tackle this issues. There are some problems stemming from this situation. Firstly, there will be a rise in unemployment rate among the older people because of age discrimination. For example, employers tend to choose the younger because they are strong enough to do manual jobs such as electricians or truck drivers. Secondly, young people can bring companies more flexibility, as they can adapt to changes better than the old. For instance, they can switch from one task to another to meet job requirements, especially in the case of software companies such as FPT or Nash Tech in VietNam. However, some methods can be implemented to mitigate the consequences. The most important solution is that governments should work with employers to ensure that they protect the old people. The typical example is that the old people should have the same opportunities as the younger counterparts to move up their careers and earn a living. Another solution is that older employees should take part in training courses which help them to adapt to changes in their jobs and acquire more knowledge and skills. By doing so, they can keep up with their younger employees. In conclusion, the world of work is becoming more competitive, and this has caused many problems. Therefore, individuals and governments should take steps to mitigate these consequences.